Otherworld Nights

All in all, this is a great collection and a bonus having the new material. I would have bought it just to have the stories in one place, even the ones I have read. If you haven’t read any of them yet then it’s highly recommended.

 I always have a feeling of sadness when a much loved series comes to a close – especially one that has run across quite a few books.  I always want to know more, even if it’s in glimpses or character histories via short stories and novellas.  I was really happy to find out about three anthologies from the Otherworld series (also known as Women of the Otherworld) – not only to have the stories I had read in one place but also for the rare, hard to find ones and of course, new material.

The first of these is Otherworld Nights!

The focus of this one is love in its various forms such as family, friends or a loved one.

First up is Demonology – This was an online story and is the story of how Adam’s mother discovers what he is.  I originally read it online and it was an interesting look at the young Adam and how far Talia was willing to go to help him.

The second novella is Twilight – This appeared in Many Bloody Returns and is about Cassandra’s (re)birthday and the lack of enthusiasm she is experiencing at continuing on with her life.  It’s a good piece in its own right and Cassandra is an enigma for me in the Otherworld, so it was nice to have a story from her point of view.

Third is a Clay and Elena story and is called Stalked – I just can’t get enough of this pair and this is about their honeymoon.  It originally appeared in My Big Fat Supernatural Honeymoon and was one story I missed, so it was great to have it here.  Obviously things can’t run smoothly for them and it also has quite an amusing conclusion.

Fourth is Chivalrous, a story that appeared in Tales of Dark Fantasy 2 – It’s Reese’s back-story and I found it very emotional and tugged right at me.  It gives you so much more of an insight into the Australian Wolf and it is a really good story.

The fifth story is Lucifer’s Daughter and is about Hope and Karl – I originally read it in blood Lite 2 and this is probably the story I rate the least here.  While I like Hope and Karl, they just don’t grab me as characters the way most of the rest of the cast do, so for me, it’s enjoyable but not hugely exciting.

Hidden is the sixth story and is a long novella released in 2012.  Elena, Clay and the twins at Christmas time – just awesome.  Not only just for the characters but the plot of this is quite serious and on par with the novels.  There is a serious twist in the tale and a bit of a shocker.  This story is my favourite of the set but I may be biased!

The penultimate offering is From Russia, With Love and this Elena story was included as a bonus with some versions of 13.  Elena has grown so much over the series, and I just love her.  I feel like this was a brilliant point for her and something she has been working towards, even though she didn’t know it.  I don’t want to spoil it but it was a surprise to me and made me a bit emotional.

Finally we have the new novella – Vanishing Act.  this is about Savannah and Adam and is set after the events in 13 so there may be spoilers for you!  It’s really well written and gives you a look at ‘what comes after’ but I can’t say more than that.

All in all, this is a great collection and a bonus having the new material.  I would have bought it just to have the stories in one place, even the ones I have read.  If you haven’t read any of them yet then it’s highly recommended.

Rating: ★★★★☆ 

Book Information
  • Author: Kelley Armstrong
  • Series: Otherworld
  • Format: Paperback
  • Publisher: Orbit
  • Genre: Paranormal Romance
  • Buy on Kindle (UK)Buy from Amazon (UK)



“Nightwalkers dwell in the shadows, they live in a world where every night holds secrets. Hunted by magic, beset by evil, the Nightwalkers face their darkest hour yet. When the unthinkable happens, only one legendary male has the power and the will to save them: Adam”

Adam disappeared into thin air four centuries ago, the greatest enforcer ever known and his whereabouts remained a mystery. Suddenly against all expectations he appears just when he is needed most, as disorientated with his surroundings as everyone else is with his appearance.

Jasmine has carried her two brief encounters with Adam with her for 400 years, wondering what happened to the demon who threatened her tight control simply with a look. For Adam it is merely hours. When he returns into a world where inter-relationships are no longer illegal, will they be able to fight the attraction between them while battling the greatest enemy demon-kind has ever known.

The start of the book was a bit of a shock and even though I was not invested in the characters from the previous books, it still made me very emotional – a testament to the writing I think!

This novel was very enjoyable and unlike a lot of similar style books, the relationship between the two main characters did not take over the entire story, in fact the relationship seemed almost secondary to everything else that was going on. When I picked up this book I realised it was not the first in the series but figured like most others, I would be able to read out of order with no problems. While this was the case, I do feel that I missed out by reading this book before the previous ones, simply because the plot which has clearly traversed a number of books is so integral to this one. Having said that, the story was explained enough that I quickly gathered the gist of what was happening – it is simply a personal opinion that I should have read them in order.

I enjoyed the writing style and liked the fact that the romance did not take over the book (although I do love a good romance). I will definitely be looking for further books by Jacquelyn Frank.

Rating: ★★★½☆ 

Book Information
  • Author: Jacquelyn Frank
  • Buy from Amazon (UK)