The Wallflower Series

 The Wallflowers is a romance series set in Victorian England by Lisa Kleypas. The books in order are :

  • Secrets of a Summer Night- Annabelle
  • It happened one Autumn – Lillian
  • The Devil in Winter – Evie
  • Scandal in Spring – Daisy

I loved this series so much I read the books back to back in 3 days, so figured a review of the series as a whole was in order.

 In 1843 four young ladies who have been wallflowers on the edge of the ballrooms for the season start talking and become firm friends. they agree to help each other find suitable husbands using devious means if necessary. As I read the books one after another, similarities in format between the books were obvious but you often find that with books by the same author and it was not a problem for me as the format worked very well.

The young ladies are from different backgrounds and have very different personalities but I loved all of them I was drawn to them immediately and looked forward to everyone’s story. My favourite has to be Evie who was the quietest of them all but hides a secret she cannot even tell her friends, and it is no coincidence her book – The Devil in Winter – is also my favourite.  The heroes were also very different and from very different backgrounds; a self made millionaire who was a butchers son, a staid and  supposedly emotionless Earl, England’s most notorious rake and an American with a secret. They all had one thing in common though, bucket loads of sexiness and when they fall, they fall hard. The great thing about this series is that the four women remain firm friends throughout so we continue to get updates on the couples throughout the series.

It was good not just having English aristocrats as the heroes and heroines (two of the ladies are American), although it was set in aristocratic circles in England. While there is always great pleasure in having a sexy English aristocrat (and in the story too!) it is also nice to see how other people fit in to those tight circles.

 These books were extremely romantic but definitely not full of sap, there is always something else going on besides the romance and there are some dramatic scenes leading up to the declarations of love. Ms Kleypas has the ability to turn a villain from one book into a hero in the next and do so believably leading me from detesting someone to rooting for him.

I wont go into individual books otherwise this would be far too lengthy, suffice to say these are some of the best historical romances I have read and at the end of each one I was left with the warm fuzzies and a deep sense of satisfaction.

Rating: ★★★★★ 

Book Information
  • Author: Lisa Kleypas
  • Series: Wallflowers
  • Buy on Kindle (UK)Buy from Amazon (UK)