Hidden in the jungles of Borneo live a race of creatures; neither human nor leopard but something in between.  Able to shift to either form, they live in empathy with the rainforest and its numerous inhabitants, serving as protectors and guardians against poachers and bandits.

Fever is two stories brought together in one volume.  I’ve not read much by Christine Feehan so far and this is the first of the Leopard People books.

The Awakening is a nine chapter story establishing the setting for the series and it was entertaining enough, although the male lead did bug me a little by being too overbearing.  It was a decent introduction to the setting and I liked the concept but it suffered for being so short.  I think if there had been more time to get to know the character of Brandt, he would have come across much better and not felt so suffocating.

Wild Rain is the longer Novella and was a much better read.  There was time to build empathy with the characters of Rachael and Rio, explore their background, even if most of it was shrouded in secrecy until they were able to open up to each other.  Of course that doesn’t happen until after quite a lot of sex and bonding.  I did come to like them, enough that I cared about what happened to them.

The plot was a little contrived but it was interesting and again I liked the concept Feehan has created with this series and the Leopard People.  The pace was smooth, I didn’t feel it was dragging at all and even though most of the novella takes place in one location due to an injury, it didn’t get boring.

As a book, it didn’t light me on fire.  I felt that the characters were quite formulaic and it didn’t quite engage me to the levels that other authors in this genre have but it was an enjoyable enough read that I am interested in reading the next book in the series.

No great shakes but enjoyable nonetheless.

Rating: ★★★☆☆ 

Book Information
  • Author: Christine Feehan
  • Buy from Amazon (UK)