Darker After Midnight

 Sterling Chase is Breed, descendants of an alien race who arrived on earth centuries ago, humans would call them vampires. He also used to be part of the Order, a group of warriors dedicated to protecting humans and Breed alike from their race and keeping their existence a secret.

Chase has been on a downward spiral for the past year which culminated into him walking out of the Order’s headquarters and into the arms of human police.  Tavia Fairchild, a human witness to one of his crimes, is pulled into the world of the Breed when Chase finds that the Power-mad breed male (and arch enemy of the Order) Dragos is interested in her.

Chase kidnaps her and what he discovers is something none of them could have ever predicted…

This is the tenth book in the Midnight Breed series and in my opinion the best one. If you have not read any of these books please start with the first book – Kiss of Midnight. While every book has its own standalone romance pairing, the underlying story threads will have you missing out great chunks of information if you read them out of order.

Chase is one of the characters I struggled to like, some of the decisions he made in previous books and his attitude were not pleasant! In this book however, we get to see another side of him and discover he has been battling the threat of blood-lust for much longer than we thought. Tavia is a great heroine but I cannot say too much without giving away a major surprise, suffice to say she will be a fine addition to the Order and their mates.

The romantic storyline is predictable but hey, without a happy ending the book wouldn’t be complete, and of course there is lots of sex!

In my opinion the underlying storyline has gotten better with each book and this one brings everything to its conclusion. There were surprises being thrown up all over the place and although this is the end of a major story arc there are lots of indications that the series will continue. I am excited to see what happens in future books.

If like me you love sex, romance and the paranormal you will love this series, some of the books in the middle were a bit lacklustre but as the storyline progressed, the books got better and better. Having finished this series I will have to go and see what else Lara Adrian has written while I wait for the next instalment 🙂

Rating: ★★★★½ 

Book Information
  • Author: Lara Adrian
  • Series: Midnight Breed (10)
  • Buy on Kindle (UK)Buy from Amazon (UK)